Ian Hunter Unleashes Shrunken Heads In May


Mott the Hoople frontman Ian Hunter recently signed to Yep Roc Records and will release his 12th solo studio LP in May 2007.

Shrunken Heads features an all-star cast of recording musicians, including Soozie Tyrell (violin, E-Street Band), Andy Burton (keyboards, The dB’s), and Steve Holly (drums, Wings and Joe Cocker). The album was produced by Andy York, John Mellencamp’s longtime guitarist, who did double duty on guitar and keyboards for this release.

Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy also makes appearances on three tracks, lending backing vocals to “Words (Big Mouth),” “Fuss About Nothing,” and “Guiding Light.”

Hunter’s last solo release, 2001’s Rant, was followed in 2006 by Columbia Records’ release of Journey: A Retrospective of Mott the Hoople and Ian Hunter, a three-disc exploration of the band’s history.

Shrunken Heads’s tracklisting:

1 - Words (Big Mouth)
2 - Fuss About Nothing
3 - When the World Was Round
4 - Brainwashed
5 - Shrunken Heads
6 - Soul Of America
7 - How's Your House?
8 - Guiding Light
9 - Stretch
10 - I Am What I Hated When I Was Young
11 - Read 'em ‘n’ Weep

Related Links:
Ian Hunter’s official website
Mott the Hoople’s official website
Yep Roc Records’ official website

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3