DeVotchKa, Polyphonic Spree, more have a Nightmare

October 31, 2008  |  10:21am
Back in August, Billboard reported that on the 15th anniversary of the release of Tim Burton's beloved Nightmare Before Christmas, a bunch of beloved bands (and, um, Korn) were set to release an album inspired by the animated musical.

The disc, entitled Nightmare Revisited and distributed by Walt Disney Records, features re-recordings, covers and new material inspired by the film. They got a pretty varied bunch to contribute but, perhaps not surprisingly, our fave has to be the gorgeous rendition of the familiar "Overture" by those gypsy rockers DeVotchKa. Check it out below:

Complete tracklist:

1. "Overture" - DeVotchKa
2. "Opening" - Danny Elfman
3. "This Is Halloween" - Marilyn Manson
4. "Jack's Lament" - All-American Rejects
5. "Doctor Finkelstein/In The Forest" - amiina
6. "What's This?" - Flyleaf
7. "Town Meeting Song" - The Polyphonic Spree
8. "Jack And Sally Montage" - The Vitamin String Quartet
9. "Jack's Obsession" - Sparklehorse
10. "Kidnap The Sandy Claws" - Korn
11. "Making Christmas" - Rise Against
12. "Nabbed" - Yoshida Brothers
13. "Sally's Song" - Amy Lee
14. "Christmas Eve Montage" - RJD2
15. "Poor Jack" - Plain White T's
16. "To The Rescue" - Datarock
17. "Finale/Reprise" - Shiny Toy Guns
18. "Closing" - Danny Elfman
19. "End Title" - The Album Leaf
20. "Oogie Boogie's Song" - Rodrigo y Gabriela

The CD, which is out now, also features the original film trailer.

Related links:
Feature: Catching Up With...DeVotchKa
Feature: The Polyphonic Spree, Now in Technicolor
Review: Sparklehorse - Dreamt for Light Years in the Belly of a Mountain

Got news tips for Paste? E-mail

comments powered by Disqus
Load More