Magnolia Electric Co. schedules tour dates, preps album

Folks have been known to utter the words "Jason Molina" and "depressing" in the same breath, but what do folks know, really? After all, Molina's on vacation right now! OK, not exactly, but the roots rocker who originally hails from Ohio has relocated to the United Kingdom, where he's been solo touring and "writing, writing, writing," according to a press release from his label, Secretly Canadian.

But fret not, 'mericans: Molina and his Co. have scheduled a handful of tour dates, mostly around the Southern and Midwestern portions of these United States. The band, which, in addition to Molina, includes Jason Groth, Pete Screiner, Mikey Kapinus and Mark Rice, will possibly be debuting some new material as well as some Songs: Ohia tracks from back in the day. What's more, the crew will convene post-tour with Steve Albini at his Electrical Audio studio in Chicago to begin work on a new Magnolia Electric Co. album. According to the band's website, the record is tentatively titled A Map of the Falling Stars, and is in the works for mid-2009. Hold on, Magnolia!


21 - Bloomington, Ind. @ Buskirk Chumley
22 - Louisville, Ky. @ Headliners
23 - Asheville, N.C. @ Grey Eagle
24 - Athens, Ga. @ 40 Watt
25 - Birmingham, Ala. @ The Bottle Tree
26 - Memphis, Tenn. @ Hi Tone
27 - Denton, Texas @ Rubber Gloves
28 - Houston, Texas @ Walter's on Washington
30 - Austin, Texas @ Mohawk
31 - Norman, Okla. @ The Opolis

- Lawrence, Kan. @ Jackpot
2 - St. Louis, Mo. @ The Bluebird
3 - Chicago, Ill. @ Abbey Pub

Related links:
Download: Magnolia Electric Co.'s "Texas 71" from Sojourner
Review: Magnolia Electric Co. - What Comes After the Blues

Got a news tip for Paste? E-mail

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3