Antony and the Johnsons to drop The Crying Light Jan. 20

Since Antony and the Johnsons took Britain's prestigious Mercury Prize with 2005 sophomore album I Am a Bird Now, the singer has thwarted restless fans by exploring other musical projects.

He spent some time playing with side-project Hercules and Love Affair, then began work on an EP, October’s Another World, for which the band played three concerts last month (to oustanding reviews). And finally, we now have news of the much-anticipated full-length follow-up: Secretly Canadian will release The Crying Light on Jan. 20. The record was co-arranged by Antony and avant-classical composer Nico Muhly (watch for a profile of Muhly in the Dec./Jan. issue of Paste).

The cover art uses the image of Japanese butoh dancer Kazuo Ohno (also featured on Another World). The EP's title track was made into a video (below) and will appear on the The Crying Light track list:  

1. Her Eyes Are Underneath the Ground
2. Epilepsy Is Dancing
3. One Dove
4. Kiss My Name
5. The Crying Light
6. Another World
7. Daylight and the Sun
8. Aeon
9. Dust and Water
10. Everglade

"Another World," directed by Colin Whitaker:

Related links:
News: New Antony single, tour in the works
News: Antony works on new album, covers Dylan

Got news tips for Paste? E-mail

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3