Rough Trade to release Alela Diane's To Be Still Feb. 17

Nevada City, Calif. singer/songwriter Alela Diane released her first album, The Pirate's Gospel, in 2006. Two years later, its haunting folk still lingered enough to land her a spot among the Best of What's Next, but we couldn't be happier that Rough Trade, which signed Alela this fall, has finally announced the release of her second LP, To Be Still, coming Feb. 17, 2009.

Recorded in Nevada City and Portland, Ore., it's a gorgeous sonic expansion of her sparse debut, featuring pedal steel, violin and rustic percussion, with lyrics tangled up in brambles and foxtails and wind-whipped sea cliffs. From the woozy folk flourishes of opener "Dry Grass & Shadows," already road-tested as a bare-bones acoustic gem, to the heart-shattering final track, "Lady Divine," we could ask for nothing more except for maybe the record having been made a little sooner. 

To Be Still tracklist:

1. Dry Grass & Shadows
2. White As Diamonds
3. Age Old Blues
4. To Be Still
5. Take Us Back
6. The Alder Trees
7. My Brambles
8. The Ocean
9. Every Path
10. Tatted Lace
11. Lady Divine

Related links:
Features: Best of What's Next: 22 up-and-coming artists you ignore at your own peril!
Ctrl-V: Rhymes With Five: Ladies love their mamas, too
Alela Diane on MySpace

Got a news tip for Paste? E-mail

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3