New Swan Lake album Enemy Mine due in March

If you like your rock heady, wordy, surprisingly sweet, Canadian and/or wacky, we've got big news for you: supergroup Swan Lake will release sophomore album Enemy Mine on March 24, via Jagjaguwar.

The trio—consisting of indie frontmen Dan Bejar (Destroyer, New Pornographers), Spencer Krug (Wolf Parade, Sunset Rubdown), and Carey Mercer (Frog Eyes, Blackout Beach)—presented debut album Beast Moans back in November 2006.

Enemy Mine, named after an '80s sci-fi flick starring Dennis Quaid and Lou Gossett Jr., was recorded in Victoria, B.C., in the early part of 2008. All three members of Swan Lake embarked on tours with their respective bands last year, apparently finding time to squeeze in the mixing and mastering of the album the public can soon hold in hand (or download to hard drive).

An MP3 from Enemy Mine is forthcoming—Jagjaguwar advocates following the label's news feed to facilitate first dibsies. Although the band hasn't yet announced when it will be pirouetting across the stage, the press release for the new album suggests that the cagey fellows could be coaxed on tour by "gold doubloons and/or enthusiastic mobs." So get out those metal detectors and start digging!

Enemy Mine tracklist:
Spanish Gold, 2044
Paper Lace
Settle On Your Skin
Ballad Of A Swan Lake, Or, Daniel's Song
A Hand At Dusk
Warlock Psychologist

Related links:
Swan Lake on Jagjaguwar
Swan Lake on MySpace
Swan Lake: "All Fires" MP3 (from Beast Moans)

Got news tips for Paste? E-mail

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3