She & Him, Black Lips, The Smiths Featured on (500) Days of Summer Soundtrack

It's OK if you've started counting down the days until Fox Searchlight's (500) Days of Summer hits theaters. The trailer is heartbreakingly cute, the lead actors (Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel) are seasoned indie-movie vets, and now that the soundtrack details have been released, it's safe to say the music is only going to make the movie a little more irresistible.

Predictably, Deschanel's band She & Him makes an appearance, though we're obviously not complaining. S&H's contribution is a cover of The Smiths' "Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want," which, judging from the trailer's introduction, will fit in swimmingly with the movie.

The Smiths theme continues elsewhere in the soundtrack, out July 17 to coincide with the film's release, with the band's song "There is a Light That Never Goes Out." Other artists include Regina Spektor, Simon & Garfunkel, Feist and Carla Bruni.


1. Mychael Danna and Rob Simonsen - "A Story of Boy Meets Girl"
2. Regina Spektor - "Us"
3. The Smiths - "There Is a Light That Never Goes Out"
4. Black Lips - "Bad Kids"
5. The Smiths - "Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want"
6. Doves - "There Goes The Fear"
7. Hall & Oates - "You Make My Dreams"
8. The Temper Trap - "Sweet Disposition"
9. Carla Bruni - "Quelqu'un M'a Dit"
10. Feist - "Mushaboom"
11. Regina Spektor - "Hero"
12. Simon & Garfunkel - "Bookends"
13. Wolfmother - "Vagabond"
14. Mumm-Ra - "She's Got You High"
15. Meaghan Smith - "Here Comes Your Man"
16. She & Him - "Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want"

Related links:

Got news tips for Paste? E-mail