George Harrison Solo Hits Ready to Roll

Ah, George. The introspective Beatle. The spiritual one. Sure, it's hard to pin anything against the songwriting powerhouse that was Lennon-McCartney, but there's something especially gorgeous in those few George Harrison songs that grace the Beatles' catalog.

But his work did not end there. After all, how could we forget his lush, Phil Specter-produced triple solo album, All Things Must Pass? Or his landmark benefit concert for Bangladesh in 1971? Well, looks like those in the George camp will finally get the retrospective they deserve when Let It Roll: Songs by George Harrison, the first career-spanning collection of Harrison solo hits, drops next week. 

Let It Roll features 19 tracks from Harrison's solo career as digitally remastered by Giles Martin at EMI's Abbey Road Studios. The album's tracklist includes songs like "My Sweet Lord," "Got My Mind Set On You" and "Blow Away," and it also comes with a 28-page booklet featuring liner notes by Warren Zanes. In addition to solo work, Let It Roll also features live versions of songs Harrison wrote for the Beatles, like "While My Guitar Gently Weeps" and "Here Comes the Sun," from the 1971 Concert for Bangladesh.

EMI/Capitol will release Let It Roll on June 16 in the U.S. and June 15 internationally.


1. Got My Mind Set On  You
2. Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth)
3. Ballad Of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll)
4. My Sweet Lord
5. While My Guitar Gently Weeps [Live] - Concert for Bangladesh
6. All Things Must Pass
7. Any Road
8. This Is Love
9. All Those Years Ago
10. Marwa Blues
11. What Is Life
12. Rising Sun
13. When We Was Fab
14. Something [Live] - Concert For Bangladesh
15. Blow Away
16. Cheer Down
17. Here Comes The Sun [Live] - Concert for Bangladesh
18. I Don't Want To Do It
19. Isn't It A Pity

You can also get your Harrison fix on the Away We Go soundtrack, which features "What is Life" and is streaming here

Related links:

Got news tips for Paste? E-mail

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3