Q-Tip to Release Album in Sept. Following Eight-Year Delay

Q-Tip might want to adopt a line from LL Cool J as his new motto: "Don't call it a comeback; I've been here for years." Eight years, in fact, have passed since the former A Tribe Called Quest MC produced the nine tracks that make up Kamaal The Abstract, to be released Sept. 15 on Battery Records.

The delay was a result of conflicts with Q's former label, Arista Records, causing the album to be shelved in 2001 until now. Fans have been eagerly anticipating the official release since at least 2007 when fan Ryan McLelland created a MySpace that streamed the album and petitioned for its release.

Previous to the November 2008 release of The Renaissance, the MC had not released a full-length album since 1999's Amplified. Q-Tip continued touring for The Renaissance this past spring.


  1. Feelin'
  2. Do U Dig U?
  3. A Million Times
  4. Blue Girl
  5. Barely in Love
  6. Heels
  7. Abstractionisms
  8. Caring
  9. Even If It Is So
Related links:
Q-Tip on MySpace
News: Q-Tip's First Album in Eight Years Almost Ready

Got a news tip for Paste? E-mail news@pastemagazine.com.

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3