Midlake Announces New Album, Tour


It’s been a couple years since Midlake has been out on the road, and now we know why. Since 2007, the band’s been working on the follow-up to The Trials of Von Occupanther, the record that put them on the map as a band gloriously reimagining ‘70s folk classics.

Midlake’s upcoming album, The Courage of Others, due out Feb. 2 on Bella Union Records, aims to continue the textures and wilderness soundscapes of Von Occupanther. All 11 tracks of Courage were penned by frontman Tim Smith and produced at Midlake’s new hometown studio in Denton, Texas.

The band will support their upcoming release with a set of U.S. shows in January and a SXSW appearance.

The Courage of Others tracklist:

1. Acts of Man
2. Winter Dies
3. Small Mountain
4. Core of Nature
5. Fortune
6. Rulers, Ruling All Things
7. Children of the Grounds
8. Bring Down
9. The Horn
10. The Courage of Others
11. In The Ground


5 – Baton Rouge, La. @ Spanish Moon
6 – Tallahassee, Fla. @ Engine Room
7 – Orlando, Fla. @ The Social
8 – St. Augustine, Fla. @ Cafe Eleven
9 – Mt. Pleasant, S.C. @ Village Tavern
10 – Asheville, N.C. @ Grey Eagle
11 – Memphis, Tenn. @ Hi-Tone
12 – Little Rock, Ark. @ Rev Room

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3