Magnetic Fields Announce New Album, Realism, Out Jan. 26


As a sort of musical renaissance man, Stephin Merritt has come a long way with the Magnetic Fields (amongst other side projects), tweaking fluid pop tracks with his own production expertise and contributing as many instruments as he’s able to play for their past seven full-length albums.

Merritt will continue his quest to find meaning in the murk with a follow-up to 2008’s Distortion. Titled Realism and due out Jan. 26, the album will mark the band’s third release on Nonesuch records.

Details for Realism are scant to say the least, but what we can tell you is the tracklist isn’t quite as grandiose as 69 Love Songs. Have a look:

1. You Must Be Out of Your Mind
2. Interlude
3. We Are Having a Hootenanny
4. I Don’t Know What to Say
5. The Dolls’ Tea Party
6. Everything Is One Big Christmas Tree
7. Walk a Lonely Road
8. Always Already Gone
9. Seduced and Abandoned
10. Better Things
11. Painted Flower
12. The Dada Polka
13. From a Sinking Boat

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3