Peter Gabriel Covers Album Gets Confirmed Tracklist, Release Date


Back in November, we told you about an upcoming album of covers from Peter Gabriel, with a tracklist including songs from Arcade Fire, Regina Spektor, David Bowie and Bon Iver. Now the project, called, Scratch My Back, has a confirmed tracklist (see below), and is set to hit record stores next month.

In the third of a series of podcasts about the Feb. 15 release, Gabriel calls the album “a sort of song-swapping record. So, the principle is if you do one of my songs, I’ll do one of yours. With some people, there’s been no contact and no real discussion, and with many of the artists, there’s been some dialogue about which song to do and how to do it.” Get it? Scratch my back?

Gabriel begins the track trading with 12 drum- and guitar-free orchestral arrangements by John Metcalf. Tracklist:

1. Heroes (David Bowie)
2. The Boy in the Bubble (Paul Simon)
3. Mirrorball (Elbow)
4. Flume (Bon Iver)
5. Listening Wind (Talking Heads)
6. The Power of the Heart (Lou Reed)
7. My Body Is a Cage (Arcade Fire)
8. The Book of Love (The Magnetic Fields)
9. I Think it’s Going to Rain Today (Randy Newman)
10. Apres Moi (Regina Spektor)
11. Philadelphia (Neil Young)
12. Street Spirit (Fade Out) (Radiohead)

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3