Members of Keane, Mumford & Sons, Killers Release More Mt. Desolation Details


A little more news has emerged on the Mt. Desolation front (AKA: the collaborative venture of Winston Marshall (banjo) of Mumford & Sons, Tom Hobden (fiddle) of Noah and the Whale, Ronnie Vannucci (drums) of The Killers, Tim Rice-Oxley (keys) of Keane and bassist Jesse Quin). Their album, recorded mainly in London this past January, is set for a late 2010 release date.

Meanwhile, the guys will be performing a few shows (so far they have a June gig scheduled in London) and ”...they may be low-key. But hopefully not off-key,” according to their website.

The idea for their self-described album was hatched over a few Guinnesses in Ireland one autumn evening. “On one such blustery and cold night in September two friends, Tim Rice-Oxley and Jesse Quin decided (whilst in wildly animated conversation about music and probably also well on their way to needing a taxi home) that they would make a country album,” Mt. Desolation’s webpage declares.

Here’s a peek into the studio from January:

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3