Avett Brothers, Dave Rawlings, Ray Wylie Hubbard Lead Americana Music Awards 2010 Nominees

May 12, 2010  |  4:00pm

The nominees for the ninth annual Americana Music Awards have been announced, and they include Paste favorites The Avett Brothes (Duo/Group of the Year and Song of the Year for “I and Love and You,”), Carolina Chocolate Drops (Duo/Group of the Year) and many more.

Scheduled to take place Sept. 9 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, the Americana Awards will feature a a Buddy Miller-led band and host Jim Lauderdale.

Album of the Year:
The List by Rosanne Cash
A Friend of a Friend by Dave Rawlings Machine
Downtown Church by Patty Griffin
A. Enlightenment B. Endarkenment (Hint: There is no c) by Ray Wylie Hubbard

Artist of the Year:
Ryan Bingham
Patty Griffin
Levon Helm
Steve Earle
Ray Wylie Hubbard

Duo Group of the Year:
The Avett Brothers
Carolina Chocolate Drops
Band of Heathens
Dave Rawlings Machine

Instrumentalist of the Year:
Buddy Miller
Dave Rawlings
Will Kimbrough
Sam Bush

New & Emerging Artist:
Sarah Jarosz
Ryan Bingham
Hayes Carll
Corb Lund
Joe Pug

Song of the Year:
“The Weary Kind” Written by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett-performed by Ryan Bingham
“Drunken Poets Dream” Written by Hayes Carll and Ray Wylie Hubbard performed by Ray Wylie Hubbard
“Ruby” Written by Dave Rawlings and Gillian Welch-performed by Dave Rawlings Machine
“I and Love and You” Written and performed The Avett Brothers

Load More