Swans Join Desaparecidos and Liz Phair in a Week of Comebacks


This week alone, Conor Oberst announced the Desaparecidos are reuniting for an American Civil Liberties Union benefit show in Omaha, Liz Phair emerged from a five-year hiatus with a new album (and a rap song!) and the Swans announced the release of their first studio album in 14 years. Whew! That’s a whole lot of comeback.

The new Swans album, My Father Will Guide Me Up a Rope to the Sky, will be released Sept. 21 via frontman Michael Gira’s own Young God Records. Gira recently released a 13-track solo effort, I Am Not Insane, to fund the new Swans endeavor, which he is quick to admit, “is not a reunion.”

As Pitchfork points out, Gira and Norman Westberg are the only original band members featured on the new album. They will be joined by mid-Swans era members Christoph Hahn and Phil Puleo as well as Flux Information Sciences’ Chris Pravdica and Shearwater’s Thor Harris. Devendra Banhart, Mercury Rev’s Grasshopper and current drummer for R.E.M./Robyn Hitchcock Bill Rieflin also contributed to the album. Banhart is reported to have collaborated with Saoirse, Gira’s 3-year-old daughter, on the song “You Fucking People Make Me Sick.” Way to go Papa Gira!

Check out the tracklist for My Father Will Guide Me Up a Rope to the Sky below:

1. No Words/No Thoughts
2. Reeling the Liars In
3. Jim
4. My Birth
5. You Fucking People Make Me Sick
6. Inside Madeline
7. Eden Prison
8. Little Mouth

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3