Watch Mavis Staples and Jeff Tweedy Cover Creedence Clearwater Revival


Chicago soul queen Mavis Staples covers a number of songs on her Sept. 14 release, You Are Not Alone, which was produced by fellow Windy City resident Jeff Tweedy of Wilco.

Alone features Staples taking on songs from Randy Newman, Little Milton and Rev. Gary Davis. Special guests on the album include Tweedy, Wilco’s Patr Sansone and Neko Case collaborators Kelly Hogan and Nora O’Connor.

You Are Not Alone tracklisting:

1. You Don’t Knock
2. You Are Not Alone
3. Downward Road
4. In Christ There Is No East And West
5. Creep Along, Moses
6. Losing You
7. I Belong To The Band
8. Last Train
9. Only The Lord Knows
10. Wrote A Song For Everyone
11. We’re Gonna Make It
12. Wonderful Savior
13. Too Close To Heaven/I’m On My Way To Heaven Anyhow

Watch Staples and Tweedy cover Creedence Clearwater Revivals “Wrote a Song for Everyone” below:

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3