Merge Signs The Mountain Goats, The Extra Lens


This just might be the heyday of North-Carolina-based label Merge Records, with a roster that includes recent releases by Arcade Fire, Spoon, She & Him and Caribou, and a promising list of upcoming releases including those by Fucked Up and Superchunk. Now, the label has added two of John Darnielle’s projects, The Mountain Goats and The Extra Lens (formerly The Extra Glenns).

The Extra Lens is a collaboration between Darnielle, who is also the frontman of The Mountain Goats, and Franklin Bruno (Nothing Painted Blue, The Human Hearts). Merge reports that the latest album from The Extra Lens, Undercard, will be released Oct. 19. Check out the tracklist below:

1. Adultery
2. Crusierweights
3. Only Existing Footage
4. Communicating Doors
5. Programmed Cell Death
6. How I Left the Ministry
7. Some Other Way
8. Ambivalent Landscape Z
9. In Germany Before the War
10. Tug on the Line
11. Rockin’ Rockin’ Twilight of the Gods
12. Dogs of Clinic 17

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3