Lykke Li Announces New Album


In a recent interview, Lykke Li revealed some details for her upcoming album Wounded Rhymes.

The album, which is a follow-up to 2008’s Youth Novels, will hit stores on March 1 via her own label, LL Recordings. Li teamed up with producer Bjorn Yttling (of Peter, Bjorn & John) to create a darker, angrier sound for the record. “Because you’re a woman, the music industry puts you in another corner,” she told Pitchfork. “I want to be fighting with the men. I want to be amongst the men, topless, throwing things onstage.”

Li also said that she’s sick of her voice being referred to as “cutesy.” “I just felt like I must be some kind of porn dream or something because all they seemed to listen to was my high-pitched voice,” she said. “I can’t help it, you know? It’s like I should start this group [called] High-Pitched Women: The Right to Be Yourself.”


1. Youth Knows No Pain
2. I Follow Rivers
3. Love Out of Lust
4. Unrequited Love
5. Get Some
6. Rich Kid Blues
7. Sadness Is a Blessing
8. I Know Places
9. Ladies Love
10. Jerome
11. Silent My Song

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3