Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros’ Frontman Plans Solo Album

Music  |  News
Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros’ Frontman Plans Solo Album

Alex Ebert, singer for Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, is preparing to release his first solo effort, the aptly titled Alexander. Although the Zeros’ frontman is stepping away from the 10-piece lineup that got him so much attention for this record, he is by no means minimizing his sound in the process.

In a recent announcement, Ebert described the solo venture as “a very humble album with sky’s-the-limit sort of qualities, and so I didn’t really shy away from doing whatever I felt like doing.” Recorded in between activity with Edward Sharpe, Ebert reportedly uses a variety of instruments on the album including violin and clarinet.

Ebert doesn’t intend on leaving the Zeros behind either. After a few shows, including a performance at South by Southwest, he plans to reunite with the rest of the band to begin work on their second LP, to be released later this year.

Look for Alexander coming on March 1 from Community Music.

1. Let’s Win!

2. Awake My Body

3. Truth

4. In The Twilight

5. Bad Bad Love

6. Old Friend

7. A Million Years

8. Remember Our Heart

9. Glimpses

10. Let’s Make a Deal to Not Make a Deal

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3