Blitzen Trapper Announces New Album and Tour

Music  |  News
Blitzen Trapper Announces New Album and Tour

Sub Pop Records has announced the newest release from folk-rockers Blitzen Trapper.

According to the label, the band’s newest LP, titled American Goldwing, is “a freewheeling collection that balances the roughness of rock ‘n’ roll with fateful heartfelt loss.” The description fits in nicely with the group’s catalog; last year’s Destroyer of the Void mirrored their past releases, showcasing the outfit’s rugged take on Americana. Lead singer and songwriter Eric Earley explains,

It’s me trying to evoke a true American nostalgia. My vision and focus while writing our new album was on the inescapable past. It’s about those feelings of being trapped in a small town. That fine line between the rural and the suburban settings that define much of America, that line between love and loss that occurs when you find yourself taking it too easy and sticking around a lonesome town for far too long.

In addition to the record, which is scheduled for release Sept. 13, the group announced a handful of tour dates which you can find below.


19 – Salt Lake City, Utah @ Urban Lounge
20 – Denver, Colo. @ The Bluebird Theater
22 – Kansas City, Mo. @ Riot Room
23 – St. Louis, Mo. @ Firebird
24 – Chicago, Ill. @ Wicker Park Festival
25 – Iowa City, Ia. @ The Blue Moose TapHouse
26 – Omaha, Neb. @ Slowdown
28 – Bozeman, Mont. @ The Filling Station
29 – Spokane, Wash. @ A Club
30 – Yakima, Wash. @ Seasons Performance Hall

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3