Blonde Redhead's Kazu Makino to Curate Japan Relief Compilation

Music  |  News
Blonde Redhead's Kazu Makino to Curate Japan Relief Compilation

Blonde Redhead announced the Jan. 10 release of a compilation curated by frontwoman Kazu Makino. The compilation is titled We are the Works in Progress and is set to benefit Japan’s recovery from last March’s tsunami, Pitchfork reports. Makino was born in Kyoto, Japan.

The compilation is set to include tracks from Deerhunter, Interpol, Broadcast, Liars and Four Tet. All proceeds will go to the Japan Society and Architecture for Humanity. The tracklist also includes Blonde Redhead’s song “Penny Sparkle” remixed by Drew Brown. Pitchfork said that the title came from many of the tracks being unfinished works in progress.

“Unfinished things often carry more energy,” Makino said in a statement. “The possibility of it eventually becoming something great is infinite without having to be quite yet. I’ve noticed that each songs relates to one another. Like my friend Scott Mou said, ‘it sounds like each song is passing a baton to the next one.’ I feel the same way.”

We are the Works in Progress Track List
1 - Four Tet: “Moma”
2 - Karin Andersson: “No Face”
3 - Terry Riley: “G Song”
4 - Nosaj Thing: “Nightcrawler”
5 - John Roberts: “Berceuse”
6 - Blonde Redhead: “Penny Sparkle [Drew Brown remix]”
7 - Pantha du Prince: “Bird on a Wire”
8 - Broadcast: “In Here the World Begins”
9 - Liars: “Drip [Blonde Redhead remix]”
10 - Deerhunter: “Curve”
11 - Stalactite: “Stalagmite”
12 - John Maus: “Castles in the Grave”
13 - David Sylvian/Ryuichi Sakamoto: “Bamboo House”
14 - Interpol: “Song Seven”

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3