River City Extension Announces Album Release Date

Music  |  News
River City Extension Announces Album Release Date

New Jersey-based River City Extension has announced that it will release its sophomore effort Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Your Anger on June 5 via XOXO Records.

As previously reported, the band recorded Anger in a mere 25 days in Chicago and the album differs vastly from the group’s debut. Musically, it features orchestral instruments and focuses less on acoustic guitars, but lyrically, Anger confronts intimate personal struggles. As songwriter and frontman Joe Michelini explained, “Half of this record is love songs, and half is ‘I’m sorry that I fucked up’ songs.”

Stream one of the songs, “There & Back Again” and check out the complete tracklisting and upcoming tour dates below.

Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Your Anger Tracklisting:

1. “Glastonbury”
2. “If You Need Me Back In Brooklyn”
3. “Slander”
4. “Welcome To Pittsburgh”
5. “Point of Surrender”
6. “Standing Outside A Southern Riot”
7. “The Fall and The Need To Be Free”
8. “Down, Down, Down”
9. “Ballad of Oregon”
10. “Everything West of Home/Brooklyn (Reprise)”
11. “Golden Tongue (Thanatopsis)”
12. “There & Back Again”
13. “Vanessa’s Song or Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Your Anger”
14. “Lord, I Have Changed”

Tour Dates:
8 – Roanoke, Va. @ Kirk Avenue Music Hall
9 – Wilmington, N.C. @ The Soapbox
10 – Atlanta, Ga. @ The Masquerade
13-17 – Austin, Texas @ SXSW
18 – Oklahoma City, Oklah. @ Conservatory
20 – St. Louis, Mo. @ Off Broadway
21 – Nashville, Tenn. @ The End
22 – Cincinnati, Ohio @ Bogart’s Front Room
23 – Pittsburgh, Pa. @ Stage AE
24 – Harrisburg, Pa. @ The Abbey Bar

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3