Todd Snider Announces Jerry Jeff Walker Tribute Album Time As We Know It

Music  |  News
Todd Snider Announces Jerry Jeff Walker Tribute Album <i>Time As We Know It</i>

Twenty years ago Jerry Jeff Walker, the country singer most famous for writing the song “Mr. Bojangles,” inspired a 19-year old Todd Snider to become a musician. Today, Snider is paying back his appreciation with tribute album Time As We Know It: The Songs Of Jerry Jeff Walker.

“I’ve always hoped I’d stay around long enough to get to make a record of Jerry Jeff Walker songs,” Snider said in a press release. “He’s the guy I saw at 19 and decided to try to be like. His are the first songs I learned.”

The album, which was produced by Don Was (Bob Dylan, The Rolling Stones), is set for an April 24 release. The 14 tracks feature admirers and friends of Walker that include Amy LaVere, Elizabeth Cook and Kix Brooks. The release follows Snider’s recent album Agnostic Hymns & Stoner Fables.

Watch Snider and Walker sing Snider’s “Alright Guy” live at Walker’s 65th birthday bash.

You can listen stream tracks “Mr. Bojangles” “Pissin’ in the Wind” and “Sangria Wine”
here, off Time As We Know It and check out the full track list below.

Time As We Know It: The Songs Of Jerry Jeff Walker Tracklist
1. Vince Triple-O Martin
2. Jaded Lover
3. Moon Child
4. Takin’ It As It Comes
5. Derby Day
6. Sangria Wine
7. Continuous Saga of the Bummer Or Is This My One Way Bus Ticket to Cleveland
8. Little Bird
9. Hill Country Rain
10. Railroad Lady
11. Laying My Life on the Line
12. Pissin’ in the Wind
13. Mr. Bojangles
14. Will There Be Any

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3