Patti Smith Announces New Album, Banga

Music  |  News
Patti Smith Announces New Album, <i>Banga</i>

Yesterday Patti Smith released her first single in five years, aptly named “April Fool.” Rumors have been swirling since the beginning of the year about her forthcoming record (which was said to include a tribute to Amy Winehouse) and now she has confirmed that Columbia Records will put out her 11th album, Banga, on June 5.

The “Godmother of Punk” enlisted help from Television frontman Tom Verlaine for the vocals on “April Fool.” Additionally, Smith co-produced Banga with her band and long-term collaborator, Lenny Kaye.

_Prefix also reported that the Winehouse track is titled “This is the Girl” and that a song called, “After the Gold Rush” closes the album, although it’s unconfirmed whether that’s a cover of Neil Young’s 1970 hitT-NMOs.

Check out the track list for Banga below.

1. Amerigo
2. Fuji-san
3. April Fool
4. This is the Girl
5. Banga
6. Maria
7. Tarkovsky (The Second Stop is Jupiter)
8. Mosaic
9. Nine
10. Seneca
11. Constantine’s Dream
12. After the Gold Rush

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3