First Track From Sonic Youth's Smart Bar - Chicago 1985 Released

Music  |  News
First Track From Sonic Youth's <i>Smart Bar - Chicago 1985</i> Released

Sonic Youth may have taken a break (a potentially very long break), but that doesn’t mean that they are done releasing albums. Last month, the band announced that they are releasing a live album from their Chicago show at Smart Bar, which was recorded back in 1985. Today, a track from the album has been released.

The song “Intro/Brave Men Run (In My Family)” has hit the internet, serving as a teaser for the album. Smart Bar – Chicago 1985 is full of great tracks from the band, including a never before released live version of the song “Kat ‘N’ Hat.”

Sonic Youth will now reissue the remastered concert in digital form as well as CD and double-LP vinyl. The album is being released from the band’s own label Goofin’ Records.

Check out “Intro/Brave Men Run (In My Family)” below. Also below, is the tracklist for Smart Bar – Chicago 1985.

Smart Bar – Chicago 1985 Tracklist
1. Hallowe’en
2. Death Valley ’69

3. Intro/Brave Men Run(In My Family)

4. I Love Her All The Time

5. Ghost Bitch

6. I’m Insane

7. Kat ‘N’ Hat

8. Brother James

9. Kill Yr Idols

10. Secret Girl

11. Flower

12. The Burning Spear

13. Expressway To Yr Skull

14. Making The Nature Scene

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3