Phosphorescent Announces New Album, Streams "Songs for Zula"

Music  |  News
Phosphorescent Announces New Album, Streams "Songs for Zula"

Phosphorescent, the stage name of Matthew Houck, has announced the full-length follow-up to 2010’s Here’s to Taking it Easy, to be released this March.

Muchacho is the finished product of songs written following a “domestic crisis,” and “in the middle of a bit of a freak-out” he booked a flight to Mexico where he worked on the songs that would make up the finished product.

“It sounds really cheesy, but I went down there with a guitar and got a little hut on the beach in Tulum, on the Yucatan Peninsula,” Houck said.

One of the tracks that made it on the upcoming release is “Songs for Zula,” which is streaming now. Check it out below as well as the complete tracklist for Muchacho (out March 19 via Dead Oceans).

1 – Sun, Arise! (An Invocation, An Introduction)
2 – Song for Zula
3 – Ride On/Right On
4 – Terror in the Canyons (The Wounded Master)
5 – A Charm/A Blade
6 – Muchacho’s Tune
7 – A New Anhedonia
8 – The Quotidian Beasts
9 – Down to Go
10 – Sun’s Arising (A Koan, An Exit)

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3