Iggy and the Stooges Announce New Album Ready To Die

Music  |  News
Iggy and the Stooges Announce New Album <i>Ready To Die</i>

For the first time since 1973’s legendary Raw Power, Iggy and the Stooges are set to release an album of all new material, Ready To Die, on April 30.

Guitarist James Williamson, drummer Scott Asheton and frontman Iggy Pop return as members of the original Stooges lineup with bassist Mike Watt filling in for the late Ron Asheton. Although The Stooges released an album in 2007 titled The Weirdness, the punk rock trailblazers altered the band’s name again in 2009 with Pop stating, “although ‘the Stooges’ died with Ron Asheton, there is still ‘Iggy and the Stooges’.”

Iggy Pop released this statement about the band’s decision to release a new record: “My motivation in making any record with the group at this point is no longer personal. It’s just a pig-headed fucking thing I have that a real fucking group when they’re an older group they also make fucking records. They don’t just go and twiddle around on stage to make a bunch of fucking money.”

For the rest of the statement, watch Iggy’s brief solo interview here.

Available for pre-order on the record company’s website, Ready To Die will be released via Fat Possum Records on April 30. Check out the official ad for Ready To Die below.

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3