Deerhunter Announces New Album, Monomania

Music  |  News
Deerhunter Announces New Album, <i>Monomania</i>


Bradford Cox and Deerhunter are back with a 12-song set titled Monomania, which is out May 7 on 4AD. The album was recorded “via multiple 8trax” by Cox and Nicolas Vernhes in Brooklyn this January and February.

This marks Deerhunter’s fifth album, which follows up 2010’s Halcyon Digest. Here’s how the press release describes the album:

Mystery disc of NOCTURNAL GARAGE. rat tapes / NEW FORMAT
is avant garde(?) but only in context not form (original intent of avant garde (1912-59) / before logic: FOG MACHINE / LEATHER / NEON

Take a look at the cover above and the tracklist below.
1 – Neon Junkyard
2 – Leather Jacket II
3 – The Missing
4 – Pensacola
5 – Dream Captain
6 – Blue Agent
7 – T.H.M.
8 – Sleepwalking
9 – Back To The Middle
10 – Monomania
11 – Nitebike
12 – Punk (La Vie Antérieure)

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3