Patty Griffin Announces New Album American Kid

Music  |  News
Patty Griffin Announces New Album <i>American Kid</i>

Following up 2007’s Children Running Through Patty Griffin announced the release of an album of original material titled American Kid on May 7 through New West Records.

Griffin said the album was written to honor her father, whose storied life included working as a high school science teacher, fighting in World War II, raising seven children and living in a Trappist Monastery.

A press release also notes that it’s the first album of Griffin’s that’s completely rooted in the Americana sound. “It was recorded in Memphis,” Griffin said. “Part of the reason was the chance to get away from what I’d been doing.”

The album includes appearances from the North Mississippi Allstars’ guitarist Luther Dickinson and drummer Cody Dickinson, and was co-produced by Craig Ross.

You can take a look at American Kid’s tracklist below.

1 – Go Wherever You Want To Go
2 – Don’t Let Me Die In Florida
3 – Ohio
4 – Wild Old Dog
5 – Mom & Dad’s Waltz
6 – Faithful Son
7 – Highway Son
8 – That Kind of Lonely
9 – Irish Boy
10 – Get Ready Marie
11 – Not A Bad Man
12 – Gonna Miss You When You’re Gone

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3