Sigur Rós Announces New Album, Kveikur

Music  |  News
Sigur Rós Announces New Album, <i>Kveikur</i>

Although Sigur Rós’ press release teased a brand new European tour in the subject line, we were all in for a big surprise in the body—It released the details of a brand new studio album, titled Kveikur. The album is the first without founding member Kjartan Sveinsson, and is set for a June 18 release on XL Recordings.

Sigur Rós is also set to perform on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon next Monday to perform a new Kveikur cut, when they’ll also perform at Madison Square Garden later on.

After the band’s last album, Valtari, which saw Sigur Rós taking a more ambient, electronic approach, the press release states this album pushes forward in a more direct, aggressive fashion.

To celebrate the announcement, the band has released several European dates, as long as a new studio track “Brennisteinn.” The video was directed by Andrew Huang.

Check out the cover and tracklist, as well as November European dates below. Pre-order information is available here.


Kveikur Tracklist:
1 Brennisteinn
2 Hrafntinna
3 Isjaki
4 Yfirbord
5 Stormur
6 Kveikur
7 Rafstraumur
8 Bláprádur
9 Var

Sigur Rós November Dates
16 – Dublin, Ireland @ O2 Arena
19 – Nottingham, U.K. @ Nottingham Arena
20 – Brighton, U.K. @ Brighton Centre
21 – London, U.K. @ Wembley Arena
23 – Luxembourg @ Rockhall
24 – Frankfurt, Germany @ Jahrhunderthalle
25 – Dusseldorf, Germany @ Mitsubishi Electric Hall
27 – Malmo, Sweden @ Baltiska Hallen
28 – Oslo, Norway @ Spektrum

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3