Smith Westerns Announce New Album Soft Will

Music  |  News
Smith Westerns Announce New Album <i>Soft Will</i>

Smith Westerns are set to release their latest album, titled Soft Will, on June 11 via Mom + Pop.

The band wrote the follow-up to 2011’s Dye it Blonde over the first half of 2012 in their hometown of Chicago. Between August and December, the Smith Westerns recorded Soft Will in El Paso, Texas and New York. Producer Chris Coady—who’s best known for his work with Beach House, Yeah Yeah Yeahs and TV on the Radio—collaborated with the band on the 10-track album.

The final track on the album, “Varsity,” will be released on 7” limited edition vinyl on May 14. B-side “Caste & Point” will also be featured on this vinyl.

Soft Will Track List:
1. 3am Spiritual
2. Idol
3. Glossed
5. Fool Proof
6. White Oath
7. Only Natural
8. Best Friend
9. Cheer Up
10. Varsity

To get a glimpse of the new album, listen to “Varsity” in the player below.

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3