Poehler, Fey Among Stars to Honor Carol Burnett for Twain Award

Comedy  |  News
Poehler, Fey Among Stars to Honor Carol Burnett for Twain Award

Carol Burnett might be the funniest, but she won’t be the only funny lady in attendance at the Kennedy Center’s award ceremony that will honor Burnett herself as the 2013 recipient of the Mark Twain Prize For American Humor.

The Washington Post reports that the lineup of stars slated to pay tribute to the veteran comedienne includes former Twain award winner Tina Fey, and fellow SNL alumni, Amy Poehler and Maya Rudolph.

This year marks the Twain award’s 16th year and, according to the Kennedy Center, the honor was created in an effort to recognize “people who have had an impact on American society in ways similar to the distinguished 19th century novelist and essayist best known as Mark Twain.” The honor was first given to actor and comedian Richard Pryor in 1998.

In addition to Fey, Poehler and Rudolph, Burnett will also be honored by Julie Andrews, Tony Bennett, Rashida Jones and former Carol Burnett Show co-stars, Vicki Lawrence and Tim Conway.

An already award-winning, highly decorated comedienne, there is no doubt that Burnett has made the kind of impact on American humor for which she is being honored: in the 11 years alone that her variety show ran, The Carol Burnett Show won 25 Emmy awards and pulled in an average of 30 million viewers a week.

The Kennedy Center’s 2013 award show for the Twain Prize will be broadcast via PBS on Nov. 24, a little over a month after the ceremony takes place on Oct. 20.

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3