Song Premiere: Sun Kil Moon - "Track Number 8"

Music  |  Audio

Mark Kozelek is set to release his fifth studio album under the Sun Kil Moon moniker this upcoming May. Among the Leaves is a 17-song melancholic folk album that Kozelek recorded from October 2011 through January of this year in his native San Francisco.

“Track Number 8”—which is really the eleventh track on the album—is a slow burning acoustic song about the pains of songwriting. He stays true to his folk genre and is able to painstakingly reminisce moments from his life.

You can stream the track below and check out the lengthy tracklist for the Among the Leaves as well.

Among The Leaves Tracklist:
1. I Know It’s Pathetic But That Was The Greatest Night Of My Life
2. Sunshine In Chicago
3. The Moderately Talented Yet Attractive Young Woman vs. The Exceptionally Talented Yet Not So Attractive Middle Aged Man
4. That Bird Has A Broken Wing
5. Elaine
6. The Winery
7. Young Love
8. Song For Richard Collopy
9. Among The Leaves
10. Red Poison
11. Track Number 8
12. Not Much Rhymes With Everything’s Awesome At All Times
13. King Fish
14. Lonely Mountain
15. UK Blues
16. UK Blues 2
17. Black Kite

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3