Video Premiere: Mates of State - “I Am a Scientist”

Music  |  Video

Indie-pop husband-and-wife duo Mates of State has been around since 1997; they’ve released seven studio albums and a number of singles, EPs and more. Most recently, they collaborated with Spare the Rock Records for a cover of Guided By Voices’ “I am a Scientist.”

The track is part of an all female 18-song charity compilation called Science Fair; it features other artists such as Moona Luna, Laura Veirs and Wunmi. The album is themed around science and engineering education for girls, who, according to research, often avoid scientific fields.

The album isn’t due until July 3 via Spare the Rock Records, but you can check out the track listing and video for “I Am a Scientist” below.

1. Babe the Blue Ox – Surfin’ Minnesota
2. Moona Luna – H2O
3. The Deedle Deedle Dees and IMPACT Repertory Theatre – Time Machine
4. Frances England – Goldilocks Zone
5. The Nields – Butterfly
6. Laura Veirs – Little Black Rock
7. Elizabeth Mitchell – Phytoplankton
8. Mates of State – I Am a Scientist
9. Wunmi – Rainbow
10. Cat & a Bird – Constellation Bound
11. Lunch Money – To Be a Fossil
12. MC Fireworks (with Secret Agent 23 Skidoo) – Rocket Science
13. Renee & Jeremy – (I Wanna Be Like) Madame Curie
14. Rachel Loshak – Oh Girl (with John Munson)
15. Alison Faith Levy & Rudy Trubitt – Deja Vu
16. Lori Henriques – Heisenberg’s Aha!
17. Barbara Brousal – I Wonder
18. Ashley Albert – The Science Fair.

Sign up for the Paste newsletter Get our daily summary of the day's top articles and new items. Sign Up Thank you! Your email address has been added to our list. You will begin receiving our newsletter within 48 hours.

Paste Magazine example 1 Paste Magazine example 2 Paste Magazine example 3