Arc In Round

Oct 11, 2012 Daytrotter Studio, Rock Island, IL

For the best audio experience, download the free Paste Music & Daytrotter app.
  1. Welcome to Daytrotter 00:05
  2. Time Spent 03:25
  3. II 03:31
  4. Spirit 04:13
  5. One-Sided 03:12
Arc In Round

Words by Sean Moeller, Illustration by Johnnie Cluney, Recording engineered by Mike Gentry

There's a good sense that time is just rolling on past here.

It's a dramatic, smoky plume of minutes and days, dragging on and on for hundreds of miles without a break.

It's this feeling of getting tucked above a pair of cold legs or under a clear night sky with millions of miles of black sky racing away from your eyes - with only the stars stuck firmly in place.

Arc In Round, made up of singer/co-songwriter Jeff Zeigler, fellow songwriter Mikele Edwards, bassist Josh Meakim and drummer Matt Ricchini, toss us into this quagmire of unending lines, of figureless space, of meandering melancholia. These are songs about searching, about finding out all that we need to know about our jittery nerves and where they think they're taking us. These are the freaking out moments that the French Kicks never showed us. They are the wild gushings of people who seem to get lost in the spinning ceiling and the swirling ticks and tocks of their nights, as they unspool and as they gravitate to those daylight hours.

There's craziness and laziness here. It's spectacular - the collision of the two sides. It makes for a delight in vibrations that call to mind a feeling of having leisurely high blood pressure - painfully lounging as time just gets carried away with itself, taking us down its hatch, scraping against the teeth as we topple.

Share Tweet Submit Pin