Flaming Lips and Wilco Featured on New SpongeBob Soundtrack

The Flaming Lips  and Wilco are among the artists highlighted on the soundtrack of The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie, opening nationwide Nov. 19 from Paramount and Nick Movies.

Set for release Nov. 9 on Sire Records, the SpongeBob soundtrack features performances by the international cartoon superstar and his best friend Patrick, along with many other artists, live and animated.

Among the new songs written and performed for The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie is "The SpongeBob SquarePants Theme" performed Avril Lavigne. Also featured is "SpongeBob & Patrick Confront the Psychic Wall Of Energy" by The Flaming Lips, as well as "Just A Kid" by Wilco.

Other selections heard in the movie include "The Goofy Goober Song" by Mike Simpson of The Dust Brothers with SpongeBob and Patrick; the previously released "Ocean Man" from Ween; "Goofy Goober Rock" derived from Twisted Sister's "I Wanna Rock" and performed by Tom Rothrock featuring Jim Wise; "You Better Swim" by heavy-metal veterans Motorhead and an orchestrated rendition of the TV show theme song, performed by The Pirates. SpongeBob and Patrick also join forces with The Monsters on "Now That We're Men."

The soundtrack also features tracks inspired by the film by artists like The Shins, German electro-garage duo Electrocute, and Japanese pop group Plus Tech Squeezebox.