Old 97’s release single, place Blame

Old 97's
Share Tweet Submit Pin

The Old 97’s will release their latest album Blame It On Gravity May 13 on New West Records.

Band members Rhett Miller, Murry Hammond, Ken Bethea and Philip Peeples self-recorded their debut album 15 years ago in their hometown of Dallas. Seven new albums, a greatest hits collection and a special two-disc live album later, the band decided to return to Dallas last year to record Blame It On Gravity, and enlisted producer Salim Nourallah to help re-create the sound of their debut.

New West describes the Old 97’s new album as a mix of various elements from rock, punk, classic country and pop. The album’s first single, "Dance With Me," is now available on the band’s MySpace page.

No word on whether the band will be unveiling any new material when it performs at SXSW next week. The Old 97's will hit the road again in May for a three-week nationwide club tour after Blame's release (dates TBA.)

Blame It On Gravity:
1. The Fool
2. Dance With Me
3. No Baby I
4. My Two Feet
5. Ride
6. She Loves The Sunset
7. This Beautiful Thing
8. I Will Remain
9. Early Morning
10. The Easy Way
11. Here’s To The Halcyon
12. Color Of A Lonely Heart Is Blue
13. The One

Related links:
Old 97’s on New West Records
Paste: Old 97’s: Revenge of the Chess Club

Got news tips for Paste? E-mail news@pastemagazine.com.