Lovely Sparrows prep new album, offer exclusive MP3s

The Lovely Sparrows
Share Tweet Submit Pin

After much pain and strife, The Lovely Sparrows will release their new album, Bury the Cynics, July 8 via Abandoned Love and Rebel Group.

Bury the Cynics is the Austin, Texas-based band’s first full-length album, and the follow-up to the band’s 2006 EP Pulling Up Floors, Pouring on (New) Paint. The band began working on the new album in June of 2007, but several unfortunate incidents delayed the album’s completion for months, including the theft of founder Shawn Jones’ laptop and the flooding of his house.

But at long-last, the album is complete, and the Sparrows’ are eager to share it with their fans. Two tracks from Bury the Cynics are now available for download exclusively on

“Department of Foreseeable Outcomes” is the album’s first single, though Jones revealed on the band’s website that it was written while he was stuck on another song. “Year of the Dog” was the only early song that “somewhat survived” the theft of Jones’ laptop, meaning he could remember enough to re-create it after the fact.

Download the latest from The Lovely Sparrows below, and seriously, if you have his laptop, give it back! The shipping is on him and he’ll even throw in a free T-shirt.

MP3: The Lovely Sparrows - ”Department of Foreseeable Outcomes”

MP3: The Lovely Sparrows - ”Year of the Dog”

Related links:
The Lovely Sparrows on MySpace
Daytrotter: The Lovely Sparrows: A Convincing Argument That There is Real Magic Out There

Got news tips for Paste? E-mail