Ray LaMontagne to start spreading Gossip in Sept.

Ray LaMontagne
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Ray LaMontagne, one of Paste's old-school favorites, will release his third album Sept. 9. Gossip In The Grain hits shelves via RCA Records, and was recorded in Box, England by returning producer Ethan Johns.

The disc follows LaMontagne's 2006 release, Till The Sun Turns Black, and his much-applauded 2004 debut, Trouble. This forthcoming record will be more of a group effort than his previous work, relieving Johns from his role as all-instrumentalist by members of LaMontagne's touring band. Johns was able to concentrate on drumming and producing, while bassist Jennifer Condos and guitarist Eric Heywood picked up the slack. Tracks "A Falling Through" and "I Still Care For You" also feature sweet-voiced singer-songwriter Leona Naess.

Perhaps dedicated to increased musical dialog, as the album title could suggest, on this record LaMontagne has left behind, somewhat, his long-standing solo tendencies. "It was time to open up a little bit more, not be quite so reserved in my choice of songs that I wanted to record," he said in a release. "I'm really very critical of myself and it's sort of a process of opening up. I felt like I was in the right space to show that side of myself."

By the looks of this tracklisting, the only thing we're tempted to gossip about is what a track six might entail.

Gossip In The Grain:

1. Let It Be Me
2. Hey Me, Hey Mama
3. Sarah
4. I Still Care For You
5. Winter Birds
6. Meg White
7. Achin' All The Time
8. Henry Nearly Killed Me (It's A Shame)
9. A Falling Through
10. Gossip In The Grain

Related links:
Review: Ray LaMontagne - Trouble
Review: Ray LaMontagne in Austin, Texas, 7/22/05

Got news tips for Paste? E-mail news@pastemagazine.com.