Andrew Bird to tour, let Noble Beast out of cage

Andrew Bird
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Whistling violin virtuoso, loop-master and songsmith Andrew Bird has confirmed that Noble Beast, his upcoming follow-up to the much-beloved Armchair Apocrypha, will be released Jan. 27, 2009 on Fat Possum Records.

Earlier this year, Bird blogged for The New York Times' songwriting feature Measure for Measure and admitted that while he usually isn't too pleased during early stages of recording an album, Noble Beast was wonderfully worrisome. "I listened to my record recently and I'm concerned about how much I like it," he admitted then. If you're unsure how this astonishing lack of self-deprecation will affect the new work, check out album track "Oh No" or upcoming tour dates below.


1. Oh No
2. Masterswarm
3. Fitz and the Dizzyspells
4. Effigy
5. Tenuousness
6. Nomenclature
7. Not a Robot, But a Ghost
8. Anonanimal
9. Natural Disaster
10. Confess
11. Souverian
12. On Ho!

Listen to Andrew Bird's "Oh No" from Noble Beast:

We know where the staged Bird sings:


7 - New York, N.Y. @ Hiro Ballroom
7 - Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Music Hall of Williamsburg (with Barack Rock)    
8 - Portsmouth, N.H. @ The Music Hall
9 - Albany, N.Y. @ The Egg
10 - Northampton, Mass. @ Calvin Theatre
19 - Los Angeles, Calif. @ Largo at The Coronet
20 - Los Angeles, Calif. @ Largo at The Coronet

Related links:
Review: Arndrew Bird - Armchair Apocrypha
Blog: Let Them Eat Cake - Going to a Wedding with Andrew Bird

Got news tips for Paste? E-mail .