Lily Allen will proclaim It's Not Me, It's You Feb. 10

Lily Allen
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Lily Allen has such a loud and lively public persona that it can often overshadow her music. She's a bonafide pop-culture phenomenon in her native Britain, and routinely finds herself in the tabloids and plastered across TV airwaves.

The 23-year-old firebrand isn't afraid to speak her mind either, whether on her TV program or through her MySpace blog. In fact, her blog has, just in the past few weeks, featured her commenting on the Madonna-Guy Ritichie divorce and responding to scathing stories printed about her public intoxication and erratic behavior at the GQ Awards hosted by Elton John's AIDS foundation.

"All these showbiz journalists are just bullies when it comes down to it," she wrote in response. Given her constant battle with the press, it's easy to lose sight of the fact her debut Alright, Stillsold 2.5 million copies worldwide. Since then, Allen insist she's grown up, and her new music reflects that. Her sophomore release, It's Not Me, It's You, is set to debut next year on Feb. 10.

"We decided to try and make bigger sounding, more ethereal songs, real songs," she says in a recent statement. "I wanted to work with one person from start to finish to make it one body of work. I wanted it to feel like it had some sort of integrity. I think I've grown up a bit as a person and I hope it reflects that."

That one person she's referring to is her sometimes Alright, Still producer Greg Kurstin. Two of the finished products—the synth-heavy "Everyone's At It," and the slick jam "Everything's Just Wonderful"—are available for streaming on Allen's MySpace.

The full It's Not Me, It's You tracklist (and we're willing to wager track eight will not be some angelic piano ballad):

1. Everyone's At It
2. The Fear
3. It's Not Fair
4. 22
5. I Could Say
6. Go Back To the Start
7. Never Gonna Happen
8. Fuck You
9. Who'd've Known
10. Chinese
11. Him
12. He Wasn't There

Allen will be touring the States in the spring, but dates have yet to be finalized.

Related links:
Lily Allen on MySpace
News: Lily Allen finishes recording second album
4 to Watch: Lily Allen

Got a news tip for Paste? E-mail

More from Lily Allen