Mark Kozelek prepping limited rarities album for December

Mark Kozelek
Share Tweet Submit Pin

This year is shaping out to be especially fruitful for Mark Kozelek. As frontman for Sun Kil Moon, he's already crafted one of 2008's finest, most-favorably-reviewed albums in April. Now, Kozelek has revealed he will release a 10-track solo rarities collection composed of both original tunes and covers on Dec. 9.

Dubbed The Finally LP, the limited release will see Kozelek cover AC/DC, musical theater genius Stephen Sondheim, '80s underground rockers Hüsker Dü, and even a track from a Nickelodeon show Yo Gabba Gabba! The full track list, for your viewing pleasure (songs are original unless otherwise noted), goes a little something like this:

1. Piano Song
2. Finally (by Kath Bloom )
3. New Partner (by Will Oldham)
4. Send In The Clowns (by Stephen Sondheim)
5. Lazy (by Low)
6. Bedtime Lullaby (by Jarond Gibbs)
7. Celebrated Summer (by Bob Mould)
8. My Friend Bob (by Dom Leone)
9. If You Want Blood (by Angus Young, Malcom Young and Bon Scott)
10. Gaping Mouth

Kozelek has also added a handful of solo tour dates to whet fans' appetites (fans on the East coast, at least):

7 -
Norfolk, Va. @ Attucks Theater
8 - Carrboro, N.C. @ Cat's Cradle
10 - Washington D.C. @ Rock n' Roll Hotel
12 - Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Music Hall of Williamsburg (with Neil Halstead)
15 - Orlando, Fla. @ Gibson Showroom

Related links:
Review: Sun Kil Moon - April
News: Sun Kil Moon's Mark Kozelek does charity, album, tour
News: Sun Kil Moon's Kozelek publishes comprehensive lyrics book

Got news tips for Paste? Email