The Nerves compilation to see the light of day Nov. 25

Chances are you've heard "Hanging On The Telephone." It's been covered by a number of artists, most notably Cat Power and Blondie. But the original was crafted by The Nerves, a '70s power-pop group that only released an EP but made enough of an impact people for to still be talking about them decades later. Now, Alive Records has announced it will release the first full-length from the group (with its blessing), entitled One Way Ticket. It hits stores Nov. 25.

The Los Angeles-based trio—comprised of Jack Lee on guitar, Peter Case on bass, Paul Collins on drums and all three on vocals—were said to be in the center of the punk rock scene in the mid-'70s, even touring with The Ramones at one point. But things quickly went astray and the trio disbanded in 1978 after releasing just the aforementioned four-song EP. Each member moved on to different projects and different bands (including The Breakaways, Plimsouls and The Beat).

But "Hanging On The Telephone" still thrives today, with Cat Power's cover appearing in a popular Cingular commercial. Beyond that signature song, One Way Ticket will feature no less than 20 tracks, including demos, previously unreleased material and songs from the member's other bands.

The full tracklist:

1. One Way Ticket
2. Paper Dolls
3. Hanging On The Telephone
4. When You Find Out
5. Working Too Hard
6. Give Me Some Time
7. Walking Out on Love (The Breakaways)
8. Thing of the Past (Plimsouls)
9. It's Hot Outside (Jack Lee)
10. Too Many Roads to Follow (demo)
11. Are You Famous? (live from the Magical Blistering Tour)
12. Why Am I Lonely? (live)
13. You Won't Be Happy (live)
14. Any Day Now (live)
15. Letter to G. (live)
16. Come Back and Stay (live)
17. I Need Your Love (live)
18. Stand Back and Take a Good Look (demo)
19. Are You Famous (demo, CD only)
20. Letter to G. (demo, CD only)   

Listen to The Nerves' "Hanging On The Telephone":

Related links:
Stereogum: Cat Power's commercial success
The Nerves on Alive Records