Bat For Lashes announces details for Two Suns

Bat For Lashes
Share Tweet Submit Pin

England's Natasha Khan, AKA Bat For Lashes, will release her sophomore album, Two Suns, on April 6 on Astralwerks. The album will mark the much-anticipated follow-up to her much-loved (and Mercury Prize nominated) debut album Fur and Gold.

A press release described the album thusly: "If Fur and Gold set Natasha on her journey, Two Suns is the middle of her travels, a record of modern-day fables exploring dualities on a number of levels - two lovers, two planets, two sides of a personality. Recorded all over the world, from the stark landscape of Big Sur and Joshua Tree in California, to the city sprawls of New York and London, to the serenity of Brighton and Wales, it is an album of epic geographical and artistic scope.  Envisioning herself as two separate yet ultimately attached beings, Khan introduces the inner character of Pearl, a destructive, self-absorbed, blonde, femme fatale of a persona who acts as a direct foil to Khan’s more mystical, desert-born spiritual self.  The songs on the album unfold the story of these two sides of the same coin, as they intertwine and overflow into each other’s worlds, reconciling their differences and their needs. Using classic story-telling imagery and magical realism within its narratives, Two Suns digs deeply into the philosophy of the self and duality, examining the need for both chaos and balance, for both love and pain, in addition to touching on metaphysical ideas concerning the connections between all existence."

Tracklisting for Two Suns:

1.  Glass
2.  Sleep Alone
3.  Moon and Moon
4.  Daniel
5.  Peace of Mind
6.  Siren Song
7.  Pearl’s Dream
8.  Good Love
9.  Two Planets
10.  Traveling Woman
11.  The Big Sleep

Khan is set to tour the U.S. after the release of the album, so look out for that news soon.

Related links:
News: Bat For Lashes announce first U.S. mini-tour
A/V: Bat For Lashes - "What's A Girl To Do?"
Bat For Lashes on Myspace

Got news tips for Paste? E-mail