Operation Aloha supergroup to feature members of Phantom Planet, Maroon 5, Gomez and more

Phantom Planet
Share Tweet Submit Pin

For 30 days, members of Gomez, Phantom Planet and Maroon 5, amongst others, took to Hawaii and formed a supergroup called Operation Aloha. Their self-released and self-titled album, recorded in the island of Maui, will be released on May 12.

With time in between tours and recording, Gomez' Dajon Everett, Olly Peacock and Ian Ball, Maroon 5's James Valentine and Jesse Carmichael, Sam Farrar from Phantom Planet, and eight other musicians congregated in Hawaii to record some random tunes and relax.

Aside from recording an album, the month-long bohemian living experiment was photographed by Christopher Wray-McCaan. The album captures the freedom and spirit of Hawaii without the usual constraints of songwriting and recording.

Related links:
Phantom Planet on MySpace
Gomez on MySpace

Got a news tip for Paste? E-mail news@pastemagazine.com.