Serge Gainsbourg's Melody Nelson finally gets U.S. release

Serge Gainsbourg
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Serge Gainsbourg's Histoire de Melody Nelson is considered to be the acme of the lecherous/genius Frenchman's career, yet the album never saw a proper release on the other side of the pond. At long last, his magnum opus will depart the cobblestone streets of Paris and hit the U.S.

Histoire's history begins nearly four decades ago, when Gainsbourg collaborated with his onetime lover Jane Birkin and composer Jean-Claude Vannier. The Lolita-esque album is a semi-autobiographical nugget recounting Serge hitting a young woman with his car and falling deeply (and existentially, natch) in love.

The reissue comes in deluxe packaging with enough liner notes, interviews and lyrics to make the francophile contingent swoon. Tracklisting is as follows:

1. Melody
2. La Ballade de Melody Nelson
3. La Valse do Melody
4. Ah! Melody
5. L’ Hotel Particulier
6. En Melody
7. Cargo Culte

Histoire de Melody Nelson is due out March 24 on Light in the Attic.

Related links:
News: Cast announced for Serge Gainsbourg: A Heroic Life
YouTube: Serge Gainsbourg - "Les Sucettes"

Got a news tip for Paste? E-mail