Sonic Youth unveils The Eternal details

Sonic Youth
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Last we heard from Sonic Youth, the band's new album, The Eternal, had a tentative June release date and would be, according to singer/guitarist Thurston Moore, "replete with juicy supersonic songs!"

But now, Matador has unveiled more information. Produced by John Agnello, The Eternal will be released on June 9 via the band's new imprint. Recorded late last year, the album marks the first time Sonic Youth touring member Mark Ibold (former Pavement/Dust Devils bassist) has worked in the studio with the band. Matador has plans for "some very interesting bonus material" that will be announced soon as well.

Tracklisting for The Eternal:

1. Sacred Trickster
2. Anti-Orgasm
3. Leaky Lifeboat(for Gregory Corso)
4. Antenna
5. What We Know
6. Calming The Snake
7. Poison Arrow
8. Malibu Gas Station
9. Thunderclap For Bobby Pyn
10. No Way
11. Walkin Blue
12. Massage The History

Meanwhile, you can get an earlier fix of new (albeit, covered) SY material by picking up the Record Store Day 7" the band is splitting with Beck from an indie record shop near you on April 18. And if your Spring travel plans have you visiting Austria, Germany or Brooklyn, you can catch those crazy Youths live and in the flesh:

22 - Krems, Austria @ Donau Festival
23 - Munich, Germany @ Haus der Kunst
24 - Dusseldorf, Germany @ 3001


16 - Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Brooklyn Music Hall

Related links:
News: Sonic Youth preps The Eternal for June release
List of the Day: Six Albums to Get Excited About in 2009

Got a news tip for Paste? E-mail