Rosanne Cash Announces New LP Influenced by Father Johnny

Rosanne Cash
Share Tweet Submit Pin

In 1973, country legend Johnny Cash decided his daughter Rosannewas lacking a solid country-music education, so he gave her list of what he considered to be 100 essential songs for her to know. The younger Cash, who has since made 11 records of her own, turned back to the list for inspiration on her next project, and—with the help of a few friends—will release her first album of covers on Oct. 6. 

Fittingly titled The List, the album will be a departure from the darker sounds Cash explored on her previous album, 2006's Black Cadillac, and will feature duets with Bruce Springsteen, Jeff Tweedy, Elvis Costello and Rufus Wainwright, who all wanted to help Cash pay homage to her father, the great Man in Black. 

“I looked to that list as a standard of excellence, and to remind myself of the tradition from which I come," Cash said in a statement. "This album enables me to validate the connection to my heritage rather than run away from it, and to tie all the threads together: past and future, legacy and youth, tradition the timelessness.”

1. Miss the Mississippi and You
2. Motherless Children
3. Sea of Heartbreak (w/ Bruce Springsteen)
4. Take These Chains From My Heart
5. I’m Movin' On
6. She’s Got You
7. Heartaches by the Number (w/ Elvis Costello)
8. 500 Miles
9. Long Black Veil (w/ Jeff Tweedy)
10. Silver Wings (w/ Rufus Wainwright)
11. Girl From the North Country
12. Bury Me Under the Weeping Willow

Related links:
News: Johnny Cash gets remixed by son and Snoop Dogg
News: Rosanne Cash to Undergo Brain Surgery
Playback: Rosanne Cash

Got news tips for Paste? E-mail

More from Rosanne Cash