Andrew Bird, Dawn Landes, Nada Surf, DeVotchKa and More Come Together to Remake Harry Nilsson Soundtrack

Andrew Bird
Share Tweet Submit Pin

Dawn Landes , Andrew Bird, Nada Surf and DeVotchKa are among the eight artists to contribute to Songs From The Point!, a new compilation reinventing the music from Harry Nilsson's cult-classic cartoon musical. After its 1971 debut as a made-for-TV movie on ABC, The Point! amassed an adoring following for the sweet soundtrack composed by Nilsson, a songwriter who had previously released a handful of his own albums and written songs for the likes of The Monkees and Three Dog Night.

Songs From The Point!, set for an Oct. 27 release, harnesses each musician's unique sound to revive Nilsson's original soundtrack. Bird plucks his violin and chimes bells in a reimagined "Think About Your Troubles" that could be right a home on Noble Beast; Landes' "Life Line" is characteristically smooth and dreamy; Nathaniel Rateliff's gentle croon brings a new softness to the lullabye "Are You Sleeping?" The interpretations capture the sentiment of loneliness and adventure that characterize Nilsson's Oblio, the only boy with a round head to be born into The Pointed Village.

The project benefits 826NYC, a educational non-profit located inside Park Slope's Brooklyn Superhero Supply Co. All proceeds from Songs From The Point! will go to this tutoring center for young writers, which relies on professional writers to provide after-school tutoring, workshops, field trips and in-class help for local students. 826NYC is a chapter of 826 National, a network of non-profits that launched when Dave Eggers opened a tutoring center in the pirate supply shop/headquarters of McSweeney's publishing house at 826 Valencia Street in San Francisco.

Related links:
List of the Day: The 40 Best TV Theme Songs Of All Time

Got a news tip for Paste? E-mail