Nickel Creek/Toad the Wet Sprocket Supergroup Preps Debut

Nickel Creek
Share Tweet Submit Pin

It seems like hardly a day goes by that we're not reporting on new supergroup shenanigans, and today is going to be no exception. On Sept. 15, the eight-member group WPA (Works Progress Administration), whose members have played with everyone from Toad the Wet Sprocket to Elvis Costello, will release its self-titled album.

The musicians came to know each other at Los Angeles club Largo. What was once a regular jam session of people who frequented the same hangout and loved playing with each other has become an independent release, to be followed by a nationwide tour. When WPA members first started to put their album together, they didn't have support from a label, nor did they have a manager.

“WPA came from a mutual feeling that those relationships and musical chemistry needed to be recorded and put to good, creative use,” member Sean Watkins said in a statement. The band's name reflects this ideology. The original WPA was part of FDR's New Deal initiative. As part of the program, many people found work during the Great Depression building bridges and promoting the arts, community and creativity.

The members of WPA (and their former bands) are:
Glen Phillips (Toad the Wet Sprocket)
Sean Watkins (Nickel Creek)
Luke Bulla (Lyle Lovett, Ricky Skaggs)
Greg Leisz (Joni Mitchell, Bill Frizell)
Benmont Tench (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers)
Pete Thomas (Elvis Costello & The Imposters)
Davey Faragher (Elvis Costello & The Imposters)
Sara Watkins (Nickel Creek)